AuctionZip Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:57 pm
Visit AuctionZip.com for
Live Auctions

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Are others noticing Auction Houses bidding up items?
Poll ended at Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:35 pm
Yes 100%  100%  [ 1 ]
No 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
don't care 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 1
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:35 pm 

I've been using AuctionZip for a few months now, the vast majority of Auction House seem to be very legit; however, I noticed one that seems to be a scam. It started when I logged into AuctionZip I was viewing several different auctions. I click on another and my curser was on the bid bar when the page opened and it took it as a bid. Did not even touch the curser and it ended up as high bid. I called AuctionZip and they gave me the number to the Auction House. They refused to let me out of the bid, which wasn't made. Luckily it was only a few hundred dollar item, not a few thousand, so I paid it and they gave me a future credit. I was fine with that. I collect coins and silver, so I thought I could just bid on those items to use the credit. When I called the company, I also found out that they don't even have live auctions they told me that they just do online auctions.

So when I go and bid, they the auction house bids on their own items, it comes up "floor" bid. They just told me the day before they don't hold live auctions. I watched their auctions for several days and it is a clear pattern that they bid up the items until they get more than the item is worth instead of just passing the item. They place bids on every item.

I read the fine print and they state they can bid up items as a reserve. At the same time some of their auctions state start at $1 no reserve. My advice is to watch the floor bids on various auctions before you get overcharged.